MATTAWA RIVER RESORT
GLOWING REVIEWS
 

I want to thank all of our patrons for their wonderful reviews of Mattawa River Resort over the past few years.  It is thanks to your incredible support, especially during this time of Covid 19, that we are able to maintain a rating of 4.7 out 5 stars on Google and Facebook.  Thank you to one and all!

Nicole Grigorov

IMG_3248.heic

DOCK SIDE DINING

Brian from Sudbury ON. – September 2020

I want to express how much I appreciate the time we spent at your property last weekend hosting my son’s wedding.  I felt immediately that we were treated as if we already shared a long friendship, both from you and Adrian as well as all of your staff. What a wonderful gift, and often rare these days. I’m also pleased to see all of the obvious renovation work. Many similar camps fall into disarray easily, and that rustic charm does not come without lots of hard work.  It is obvious that your family is moving things along well, and I expect that you will receive many well deserved positive ratings from your guests in the years ahead.

Dominique Vieira – September 2020

This is my second year coming to Mattawa River Resort & Cardinal Lodge.

If your looking for a perfect cottage getaway look no further.

This place has breathtaking views, I almost don’t want to write a review to keep it a hidden gem.

Awesome place to make memories with your family.

Candice Grant – September 2020

Can I give more than 5 stars?! These people are amazing!! Above and beyond. In a short time, they took on my wedding group-made us feel special & did everything they could to make sure we were comfortable. The peace on this lake is priceless to me & they somehow made it even more special. THE WHOLE TEAM from cleaning to reservations to service to maintenance to delicious maple creamer was just perfect. We couldn’t have asked for more genuine people to be a part of our special day. 

Behnoush Amery – 5/5 – September 2020

The best outdoor activity this year!
I visited this place twice two groups of friends over the summer, and recommended it to two other groups of friends who came, stayed and enjoyed.
Free water activities like canoeing, kayaking and paddling were one of the main reasons I loved this place (I suggest the owner to make sure all canoes are properly working)
Highly recommended!

Ted Dupont – 5/5 – September 2020

We pulled in off the hiway after after midnight with no reservations and the owner welcomed us….this place is amazing and we will be coming back!!@

Ashley Shepley – 5/5 – September 2020

The owner is the most friendliest and down to earth person I’ve ever met at a lodging establishment. She accommodated us on very last minutes notice. We came unprepared and she took top notch care of us the entire stay. As of now, most of her help is from family and I LOVE family owned and operated settings. It was nice to meet her family as well!
The cabins are your standard cute little cozy things and the view is absolutely incredible. Kayaking, canoeing, pontoon boat tours, volleyball net, horseshoe pit (yes the stakes are there), badminton rackets, public fire pits, free firewood, good food, great price!
We brought our canams to ride trails but had to pull trailer to the voyageur trails (not that far) in order to use the trails as it is illegal to.ride them on highway. We did 7 hours in the trails and it was absolutely amazing. If you go, bring a flashlight for the mines!
Overall resort was fun, friendly, and clean!

Helene Gringras – 5/5 – September 2020

Amazing September girls getaway at Mattawa River resort! Dave was always ready to answer any of the questions I had when preparing for our stay. Nicole the owner greeted us and checked in to make sure we were all settled in and that everything was ok! This is a beautiful peaceful spot! Beautiful scenery, hiking trails, kayaking, relaxing by the fire or beach! Thank you and we will be back to visit again!

Lisa Motta – 5/5 – September 2020

Mattawa Resort is a great family getaway for kids and adults. Our family had a great time, the kids had an awesome time with all the water toys they had to offer, no time for electronic’s. Nicole was a pleasant and down to earth person to deal with made us feel right at home. Our cottage had an amazing view and was super comfortablee. Recommend this place to everyone, we hope to go back next summer.

Bill Shields – 5/5 – August 2020

We had a great stay at Mattawa River resort. The kids loved the beach and the surrounding wildlife. The fishing was great and the vista is picturesque.The owners are extremely helpful and have a good knowledge of what is available in the surrounding area. Make sure to order one of the homemade pizzas from the restaurant.

AIM Gym – Laurie Large – 5/5 – August 2020

My sister, niece, nephew and I recently spent an extended long weekend at Mattawa River Resort. It was our first visit but will not be our last. Nicole and family are seen all day attending to the everyday maintenance, upkeep and running of the facility. They never stopped. They personally introduce themselves to all cabins. They truly were a knock, phone call, text away. We were super impressed when we had an issue with our fridge the first day. Adrian had it repaired within an hour. No issues after that. The property is well maintained the beach is raked daily, dock swept multiple times a day, grass cut. Tim took us out on a boat tour. He asked the kids what type of music they like and ensured the music was to their liking, the personal touch had them singing away. He was very informative with all our questions. Took us out to the waterfalls. We never felt rushed. We enjoyed the stories, history he shared with us. Thank you very much for the experience and memories we will be back.

That Pony Chick – August 2020

Beautiful location. Rooms were nice, and cozy. Owners are very friendly!! Lots of fun activities. Will recommend to friends & family.

Reza Talebi – August 2020

This is a fabulous adventure to be with family and friends in such a beautiful place with great hosts at Mattawa River Resort.
Nicole and her crew were kind and so welcoming and accommodating that the only thing is left to you and your company, is thinking how to enjoy the great nature of the resort.
To folks who love nature and adventure in a nice, clean, and cozy place, don’t waste your money and time with long flights to go to other countries. This is a great opportunity that you must experience with a fraction of money.
Thank you so much Mattawa River Resort!!! Will be back soon!!
Reza

Kristen Laura-Lee – August 2020

Absolutely amazing!  Trip of a lifetime with a unique camp atmosphere. Great views and cabins, very peaceful!!!  Will definitely be going back:)

Dawn Margaret – August 2020

We just got home from an extended weekend here. We had an incredible time! The beach and resort are lovingly taken care of and every interaction with staff was pleasant. We were made to feel comfortable and at home home the second we arrived. A special shout out to Alex for the time she spent with my daughter and the horses and to Tim for fishing with my son.   

TA Marsden – 5/5 – August 2020

I loved every minute of my stay at the Mattawa River Resort. The owners accommodated every request, for example my BBQ was having an issue and they immediately came to my rescue and fixed the problem. As it turns out the problem was me!!! They are the most fun and gracious people ever! My Cabin was great, the bed was comfortable all the appliances worked, the views were spectacular… From my first encounter on the phone booking my stay with Dave to the goodbyes… I had a fabulous time! I will definitely return in a heartbeat.

Matt Takacs – 5/5 – August 2020

Excellent customer service!

Cynthia Sih – 5/5 – August 2020

Very nice and quiet place to relax and perfect affordable place to have so much fun with your whole family

Ninder Hayer – 5/5 – August 2020

Excellently place to stay for couples and families. We enjoyed our stay. Its a family owned resort and owner is very nice and treats you like a family. Cottages are spacious and clean, boat tour, horse riding and trails are amazing. We will certainly go back and recommend this place to all our friends.

Bahareh Ameri – 5/5 – August 2020

The best cottage experience I have had in Ontario so far! The people were super friendly and caring! The place, specially the bathroom were clean! Because of the Covid, they were not allowed to offer any sleeping sheets and pillows but we knew this and took everything we needed with us. My friends and I enjoyed swimming, playing volleyball, kayaking, canoeing, paddle boarding and barbecuing very much. Even the days that all other cottages were full, we still could enjoy the public fire place and everything else.  People should be very compromising and considerate to enjoy their time there and that was how we enjoyed it 🙂
I have already recommend the place to my friends and have booked the same cottage again for us for this September .

Patricia Yarascavitch – 5/5 – August 2020

Modest but clean cottages.  Beautiful surroundings, friendly hosts and lots to do.  Loved our stay.

Sabrina Gomez – 5/5 – August 2020

Amazing Place!  The owners were amazing and always wanted to make sure you’re okay, very family oriented which is great!  Alexandra was such a good host and always responded quickly, super friendly and always answered my questions!  Highly recommend this cozy cottage.

Afsoon Pajand  5/5 – August 2020

You know you had the best experience when you tell yourself, I’m gonna come back here! That’s what happened in summer 2018 and both me and my boyfriend said we’re gonna come back here! So I did, I went again this summer in July and we had 3 days of absolute blast! The cabins are nice, the staff are super amazing, they go beyond their way to make sure you have fun, all fun activities including canoe, kayak and paddleboards are free to use as many time as you want! and most of all the environment resonate such a peaceful vibe, overall exceeds expectations! Again this summer right when we were leaving my friends said lets book it again and come back before summer ends! So we did, we booked again for the September long weekend!

Julie Brooks – July

A beautiful resort with outstanding service

My family and I spent 5 days at the Mattawa River Resort and highly recommend this amazing gem to all. The grounds are beautiful, clean with spectacular views. We stayed in Cartier cottage which was extremely clean, spacious and comfortable. We loved dining in the restaurant, the food is prepared fresh for each meal and is absolutely delicious. The owners, Nicole and Adrian, are absolutely the friendliest and most accommodating. They will bend over backwards to ensure your stay exceeds your expectations.

We will definitely return to this amazing oasis in the north!

Lito Quetua – July 2020

Clean Resort, Awesome Amenities, Perfect and Beautiful Nature right in front of my cottage overlooking lake and mountain view. I took so many beautiful photos. I love sunset and foggy morning on the lake. We were 3 families in a cottage. My recommendation will be AAA+ I don’t need to exaggerate because I was just there and I shared my photos!

Amanda Connolly 5/5 – July 2020

Would give more stars if I could. This place was one of the best resorts/cottages I have stayed in. The resort has literally everything! They have kayaks, canoes, paddle boats, paddle boards, water slide, badminton, pony rides and so much more. The staff was so friendly. You can tell the owner Nicole really loves what she does. Couldn’t have asked for a better weekend away with the kids. Will hopefully be back before this summer ends.

Amanda FrancesBlair Lukassen – July 2020

I can’t say enough how peaceful and beautiful this resort is. Now the owners, probably the best run resort I’ve ever stayed at, they are gems, pure gems. Any concerns, they are on it in a matter of seconds. I found my yearly place, there is no going back now.

Brenda Diepenbroek– July 2020

A perfect place for a family reunion beautiful scenery, enjoyable experience, very happy with our stay!!!

Stacey Lynn Szczebonski – July 2020

Booking with Dave was a pleasant experience he was friendly to speak with and very helpful to complete the reservation and explain some exciting details about the resort.
Upon entering the resort down a long pathway coupled with cute signs saying “almost almost there and then almost there” we arrived to the family run resort and met Adrian at the maintenance shop where he kindly helped us to our cabin as Nicole was away at the moment. Adrian was friendly and a pleasant man to interact with. We settled into our cute and quaint cabin (DeGroielliers) lake front with a beautiful view, picnic table, BBQ, and five sleeping areas. The day after arrival I met Nicole for a formal check in. She was very friendly and offered helpful information on amenities about trails, fishing, pontoon rides, kayaks and canoes, horseback riding, bonfire pit, volleyball, etc.
Overall, a clean and cozy cabin with beautiful guest services and down to earth hosts; coupled with loads of breath taking nature and scenery allowed me to experience the perfect vacation spot for a tired mom to regenerate and get in tune with nature and fun times.
“totally family friendly and also let friendly I will be attending this resort again with little one in future endeavours. This resort is amazing and knowing it’s a family run business allows you to feel well cared for and know that you are making a contribution to Canadian economy through local businesses.*

Alexey Leontev 5/5

Amazing experience!!! Made last call booking through website, have conversation with owner Nicole over phone about all details. But…
When we check in, everything was way more from expecting. Cabins spacious and clean, site comfortable, amazing boat loading dock, Adrian – one of the owner, was super helpful in any questions. Beach not big, but kids spent lots of time… Something still under renovation, but I can see big future in this resort and definitely will book many times more ahead or next year…
Fishing – the best so far in my vacation experience, Adrian show us many spots on River to catch any species any time.
Nicole so amazing and helpful in any situation, she answering her phone in seconds.
Beautiful family resort, great vacation place… Hope next time I can experience restaurant on site. Thank you Nicole and Adrian for amazing weekend!!!

Ray Keating 5/5

Beautiful place.. Stayed in Frazer Cabin for 3 days and had an amazing time. The river gets very warm and the fishing was great.  The Restaraunt has great Service and even better food. 100% will go back

Sylvie Mckee 5/5

Great place,great homemade food,clean clean clean. Owners and staff are awesome. The view is exceptional and I will defenatly be going back.Thank you for everything.

Sylvie Mckee

Clinton John James5/5

Loved when I heard that this resort was opening up. It was a popular place years ago. I am always pleased to hear of new businesses opening up. Best of luck to all involved.

The resort is located on Hwy 17 just west of Mattawa and east of Champlain Provincial park. It is well off the highway and is located right on a magnificent section of the Mattawa River. If you are vacationing, you can relax on or swim off of their dock. You can also make use of the canoes and kayaks available to cruise the river. There are a number of beautiful cottages available to rent.

The Cardinal restaurant is also quite nice. Old timbers and furniture are eye-pleasing. The service was excellent, and the bacon cheeseburger was  very very good. The view from the porch dining area was outstanding. Give it a chance if you’re in the Mattawa area. It is always important to support local merchants.

Isaac Jakowiec5/5

Excellent stay right along the river. Great access to local shops as the town is just minutes away. This cozy place has access to a small general store and restaurant access with a dock to tie off your boat for the stop. Cabins are closer together, which gives this place a more of a small community charm. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Great place for a nice stay or even a family getaway with multiple cabin rentals.

4 Realz5/5

Wow, this place is paradise. Rented a cottage for 1 week with the family and we found our new favorite vacation spot. The Cardinal restaurant has great food and views. Can’t wait until our next trip there. Truly amazing.

Impressed in Every Aspect!

This was exactly what I envisioned as winter wonderland. It is very quiet place, warm and cozy inside with breathtaking views outside.The cottages are nestled in pure wilderness. The resort is conveniently located close by Mattawa, where one could go shopping for all the necessities .The log cabins are equipped with everything to prepare your own meals, but I feel like we would indulge in the Cardinal restaurant next time. Also heat sources are 2 in the cabin, the wood burning stove adds so much coziness to the room, but if lazy to start a fire, heaters will do. We also enjoyed the sauna and hiking all day on the trails around. Owners are very friendly and passionate in everything they do.

Thank you Nicole and Adrian, also Tammy for your kindness, you made us feel at home in no time, we really appreciate the invitation to your family event ,delicious meals and warm atmosphere. We would love to come again, hit the slopes and skate on the river, bring the ski-doos and enjoy all those fun activities.

Happy Holidays

Conrad B wrote a review Aug. 2018

Beautiful location! Spectacular Views!

What an incredibly nostalgic lodge/cabins! We were looking for something close to the Ottawa River for boating and the Mattawa River Resort was perfect for us! We enjoyed our 2 nights so much we decided to stay another night. Nicole and Tammy offered us the best hospitality and were accommodating and flexible with our changes. This location is also so close to Samuel de Champlain for hiking or tubing down the rapids(next time!). The resort offers free canoe use and the Mattawa River is spectacular to canoe. Very little boat traffic and the views are wonderful. Truly a beautiful and peaceful place to enjoy! We look forward to returning again!

Date of stay: August 2018

Trip type: Travelled as a couple

smurfett2018 wrote a review Jul. 2018

South Porcupine, Canada3 contributions4 helpful votes

Best place to stay if you like the deep woods,perfect

Awesome,awesome,clean and personable and they all address me by my first name the same day I got there. Love the food,the bed ,bedding and pillows are so so comfy,and they have three dogs that are so passive. Great family business. Will be back,you can count on that.thank you for everything.

Date of stay: July 2018

Trip type: Travelled solo

Room Tip: Radisson cabin

Julie Brooks reviewed Mattawa River Resort and Cardinal Lodge — 5 star

July 25, 2018 ·

A beautiful resort with outstanding service

My family and I spent 5 days at the Mattawa River Resort and highly recommend this amazing gem to all. The grounds are beautiful, clean with spectacular views. We stayed in Cartier cottage which was extremely clean, spacious and comfortable. We loved dining in the restaurant, the food is prepared fresh for each meal and is absolutely delicious. The owners, Nicole and Adrian, are absolutely the friendliest and most accommodating. They will bend over backwards to ensure your stay exceeds your expectations.

We will definitely return to this amazing oasis in the north!

Melissa Mace recommends Mattawa River Resort and Cardinal Lodge.

March 30 ·

I would absolutely recommend Mattawa River Resort and Cardinal Lodge. The resort is beautiful and the Cardinal Lodge food was delicious! The owners of this resort went above and beyond for our large group. They made every aspect of our stay enjoyable. Thank you Nicole, Adrian and Tammy!

Steve Furrow reviewed Mattawa River Resort and Cardinal Lodge — 5 star

July 18, 2018 ·

nt, The Cardinal, is something exceptional. Everything they make is homemade and absolutely delicious…awesome weekend breakfast buffets! My wife would recommend their “Cardinal” cocktail, just one of their signature cocktails. I enjoyed the New Ontario draft beers,

brewed locally right in North Bay.

For sure we will be back again!

Tara Voycey-Selig recommends Mattawa River Resort and Cardinal Lodge.

March 19 ·

I can’t say enough about my positive experience at Mattawa River Resort. The owners were so welcoming and accommodating from the moment we booked until our hug goodbye. The scenery is breathtaking and the atmosphere is peaceful. I would also highly recommend the restaurant there. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there and I look forward to experiencing this resort for all 4 seasons. Thank you!!

Lucas Robert Dugard reviewed Mattawa River Resort and Cardinal Lodge — 5 star

June 17, 2018 ·

The only thing better than the view is the service!!!

Definitely recommend making the drive out to mattawa river resort! We went for fathers day and the food, staff, and atmosphere were amazing! the owners were buzzing around ensuring everyone was well taken care of which was a nice addition to an already beautiful place . they showed a true sense of pride in the cardinal restauraunt down to every last detail.

i had the mattawa monster burger and needless to say, left there extremely satisfied.

Hidden gem!!!